The Making of Blossom pt 1

Song of the Day : Big Chief – Professor longhair

 

I was walking home after meeting a few friends for a drink when Paul rang me with the idea for recording another Suzys album 10 years after ‘MIRRORS’ with all the boys. I loved the idea instantly but wasn’t sure if everyone would as we all have different lives now and live all over the place!! I was very wrong!!

The emails came in…everyone on board and loving the concept. We of course discussed the logistics of where and how we could do this and quickly settled on the U.S as a location but it took a while before we settled on New Orleans. ‘BLOSSOM’ ,at one point in proceedings, could have been recorded in the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia but common sense kicked in.

Our next hurdle was how to demo the songs…this actually was pretty painless in the end as modern tech is so available these days and the other boys are all rather proficient with it, I, on the other hand, am not! I did my demoes on GarageBand and emailed the chaps my songs and they added or took things away and basically made it all sound better. It was fun hearing all these new songs coming from everyone in the band as MIRRORS had been written mostly by Adam & Myself, with Matt writing ‘Beautiful Thing’, so it was a joy to get these great songs off everybody and we all agreed too give our songs over to band and make them truly “band written”.

For me, the first song that made me think we may actually have a great album was ‘Stone by Stone’. I loved it the moment I heard it and it’s gotten better the more we’ve all shaped it. Other songs that came in just fell short for selection but were amazing too, songs like…’Death to Hapsbergs’, Train Robbery, Sometimes, Shallow, 9×5 and Cheer up Gary Jules all had there moments but fell at the final hurdle, but I feel we came up with the best songs for the Album in the end.

So, as I write this, we are roughly a week away from the last 6 months work reaching its purpose. I will keep blogging right through recording and giving more insight into the album as I go. Any questions you have please ask and I will try and answer as much as I can but for now…back too work for me!!

Ali (Guitar Monkey for Suzys Field)

Standard

3 thoughts on “The Making of Blossom pt 1

  1. Audrey Lassche says:

    Oh, yes, do keep us updated. I am very curious about all the songs! The titles are absolutely intrigueing.

Leave a Reply

